India Pin Code

Pin code, also known as the "Postal Index Number" is a six digit long code used by Indian post department. This code is used for the numbering of post offices of Indian cities divided state-wise. You can also now easily find postal (zip) code of Indian cities and areas on Pin Code Area, a sister concern website of

Browse Pincode by State Name

Most Viewed Pincode

Following is the list of all most viewed areas' pincodes:

How Pin Code is Defined?

There are 6 digits in the Indian postal code. The first digit of the pincode refers to the region. The second digit of the postal code in India refers to the sub-region and the third digit refers to the sorting district within the region. Last 3 digits of postal code refer to individual post offices. India Pin Code was first introduced on 15 August 1972 by Mr. Shriram Bhikaji Velankar. The system was introduced to avoid confusion regarding incorrect addresses, similar place names and languages used by public.

There are 9 PIN zones in the country which include eight regional zones and one functional zone which are as follows :-

  1. Zone 1 :- Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh
  2. Zone 2 :- Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
  3. Zone 3 :- Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  4. Zone 4 :- Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
  5. Zone 5 :- Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana
  6. Zone 6 :- Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
  7. Zone 7 :- Odisha, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
  8. Zone 8 :- Bihar, Jharkhand
  9. Zone 9 :- Army Post office (APO) and Field Post office (FPO)

What the first 2 digit of the India Pin Code tells us can be seen from the followings:

11 - Delhi
12 and 13 - Haryana
14 to 16 - Punjab
17 - Himachal Pradesh
18 to 19 - Jammu and Kashmir
20 to 28 - Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
30 to 34 - Rajasthan
36 to 39 - Gujarat
40 to 44 - Maharashtra
45 to 49 - Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh
50 to 53 - Andhra Pradesh
56 to 59 - Karnataka
60 to 64 - Tamil Nadu
67 to 69 - Kerala
70 to 74 - West Bengal
75 to 77 - Orissa
78 - Assam
79 - North Eastern
80 to 85 - Bihar and Jharkand
90 to 99 - Army Postal Service

The delivery office can be a General Post Office, a Head Office or Sub Office which are located in urban areas. The post from delivery office is routed to other branch office for the same pin. Branch offices are mostly located in rural areas and they have limited postal service.